Sash: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill – BOOK REVIEW

all our yesterdaysAll Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill
Release Date: September 3rd, 2013
Disney Hyperion, 368 Pages
Sub-genre: Science Fiction (Time Travel!)
Source: Advanced copy from the author, ARC from BEA 2013, and 2 finished copies that I bought
Age Group: Young Adult
Recommended for: fans of Myra McEntire’s Hourglass trilogy

“You have to kill him.” Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend James since the day he moved next door when they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles apart, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Now someone is trying to kill him. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it. At least not as the girl she once was.

All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.

Full Disclosure : Cristin and I are both part of the (totally awesome) DC YA Mafya aka a group of mostly writers (but sometimes bloggers) who live in the DC Metro Area. What I’m trying to say is: we’re friends IN REAL LIFE. However, this review is my “professional” (ha!) opinion of her book.

Time travel, you guys! EEP!

Let me be the first to tell you that this doesn’t just gloss over time travel theory – Cristin gets into the nitty gritty, which may make readers do a lot of double takes (aka re-reads of paragraphs) to fully grasp things. I’m not going to lie – I had to read, and re-read, and re-re-read passages sometimes but then I was like Scott Pilgrim when it all started to make perfect sense:

tumblr_inline_moll5b5iQ71qz4rgp

My favorite part about this book were the action scenes (especially the one that takes place in DC!). There was so much tension in this book – what will happen – who will make it – who did what – what the what. And I seriously can not wait for the follow up book!

All Our Yesterdays is perfect for fans of Myra McEntire’s Hourglass trilogy. Tons of action, fast-paced, and oo lala ROMANCE! It was released on September 3rd, 2013 – so what are you waiting for? Go buy it already!

  • September 15, 2013 - 5:28 pm

    Lisa (heylisarenee) - Okay really – as if you didn’t already have me with the Scott Pilgrim .gif – you TOTALLY SOLD ME with that closing paragraph! Romance+action+face paced = WIN WIN WIN for this girl!

    Great review! I’m totes adding this to my TBR.ReplyCancel

  • September 16, 2013 - 10:43 am

    Sash and Em - Hope you love it as much as I did, Lisa!ReplyCancel

  • September 16, 2013 - 1:28 pm

    Nikki @ Foil the Plot - Wow, I never realized Terrill was from the DC area (I’m from Baltimore so we’re all practically neighbors!). It always makes me smile a bit more when a book takes place in a location nearby. Plus I’m an unadultered fan of time travel books (gimme more, pleeeeeeease!) so this has been near the top of my TBR pile for quite some time. Sometimes we just need to devour a more complex story, right?!ReplyCancel

  • September 19, 2013 - 6:02 pm

    Pam@YAEscapefromReality - I loved this book, this is one of the better time travel books I’ve read. I loved Em and Finn, and the villain was definitely complex and real (not just a cardboard bad guy). The end, with what Finn and Em talked about before everything happened, I was just saying awwww.ReplyCancel

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*