Sash: Don’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon – BOOK REVIEW

DonDon’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon
Release Date: August 28th, 2012
HarperCollins, 309 pages
Sub-genre: Thriller/Science Fiction
Source: ARC via Edelweiss
Age Group: Young Adult
Series: PERSEFoNE #1
Recommended for: fans of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been a victim of the system ever since her parents died. Now living off the grid and trusting no one, she uses her hacking skills to stay anonymous and alone. But when she wakes up on a table in a warehouse with an IV in her arm and no memory of how she got there, Noa starts to wish she had someone on her side.

Enter Peter Gregory. A rich kid and the leader of a hacker alliance, Peter needs people with Noa’s talents on his team. Especially after a shady corporation threatens his life in no uncertain terms. But what Noa and Peter don’t realize is that Noa holds the key to a terrible secret, and there are those who’d stop at nothing to silence her for good.

HOLY COW, YOU GUYS. This book was SUCH A RUSH. Looking for YA that would be perfect for fans of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? HERE IT IS.

Lately I’ve been on a mystery/thriller binge and Don’t Turn Around satisfied my craving for a good thriller. The main character, Noa, is dark but not overly emo/gothic. And while another storyline is thrown in there (Peter’s), I always found myself wondering what was going on with Noa while I was reading about Peter (he was definitely interesting on his own though). This book was extremely fast-paced and had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.

While I would have liked a little bit more explaining on the PEMA epidemic, I’m willing to wait and see if the other books provide me with the info I want.

Perfect for fans of Variant by Robison Wells and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson – if you want thrills, here’s your book.

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*