Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – REVIEW

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Release Date: December 2nd, 2010
Penguin, 372 Pages
Sub-genre: Contemporary
Source: Bought in Hardback
Age Group: Young Adult
Recommended for: fans of Meg Cabot

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

 

Updated 9/1/2012: 2nd reading of this novel and it filled me with more happiness than the first time. I was able to get a better feel for the minor characters (Rash, Josh, and Mer) and loved them – I would read about their own adventures as well. Of course, I fell in love with St. Clair and I can’t believe I forgot how much I adore Anna. Still love this book as much (if not more) than I did the first time I read it.

My first “Chick-Lit” book. If you’re wary, DON’T BE! It doesn’t matter if you don’t think Chick-Lit will be for you or not – you will adore this book. I have been on a YA Contemp binge lately and this has been my favorite so far.

A short list (from a long list) of things that I loved:

Perkins’ writing style is free-flowing, nice, and true to the heart of a teenage girl.

Anna is likable. Is she perfect? No, but she is imperfectly perfect. I want Anna as my best friend.

The idea that home can be a PERSON, and not a place.

This book made me feel warm and fuzzy and just plain HAPPY. I smiled while I was reading this book – not (always) a giddy “hehehe – he’s so cute” smile – but a genuine smile. That, above all, is what made me fall in love with Anna and the French Kiss.

Tatiana from GoodReads recommends this book for fans of Meg Cabot and I couldn’t agree more.

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

*

*